New Music Monday – 6/5/17

For this week’s roundup of new music, we have work from:

  • Wavves
  • Daddy Issues
  • Warbringer
  • Radiohead
  • Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
  • Daniel Brady Lynch
  • Hot Water Music
  • Sheer Mag
  • Foo Fighters


You’re Welcome out now on Ghost Ramp.

We’ve previewed a couple of Nathan Williams tunes off of his new “self-released, self-actualized, self-promoted” album You’re Welcome. Well, the whole thing is out now, and he whittled 40 fractured, beachy, punky, poppy, catchy, surfy, noisey tunes down to a solid 12 that will provide a great soundtrack for your super cool indie rock beach excursions. – tom

Hot Water Music
Gainesville, FL
“Never Going Back” off of the upcoming album Light It Up, due 9/15/17.

New Hot Water Music is always noteworthy and this new song has the more mature sound that we’ve heard on the recent releases, with Chuck Ragan taking lead vocals on this one. I’m not going to lie though, I hope we get some songs with back and forth vocals between Ragan and Chris Wollard this time around, those songs always hit hardest for me. We’ll see. – tom

Sheer Mag
Philadelphia, PA
“Just Can’t Get Enough” from Need to Feel Your Love out July 14, 2017.

I have to admit, I slept on Sheer Mag for a long time, but they’re in heavy rotation for me now. Classic 70’s rock ala The Runaways or even early Go Go’s cut with an equal measure of punk rock, it just works. If you are any kind of rock fan, I highly recommend listening to the 2017 compilation of their earlier releases, it’s really great. This is the lead single from the upcoming album, which I can’t imagine I won’t play constantly this summer. – tom

Daniel Brady Lynch
Savannah, Ga.
“Time That It Takes”

Daniel Brady Lynch has, somehow, found time to release fresh music under his own name in the midst of several other projects and a big move to Chicago. In a little bit of a departure from his punk acts Cray Bags and Greta O and The Toxic Shock, or electronica solo project Sunglow, “Time That It Takes” is a catchy, garage rock tune with a styling 90s collage video, complete with shower scene. Savannah is going to miss this dude. So, thanks for a send-off tune. Come back soon. — Joshua

Newbury Park, California
Woe To The Vanquished

If you dig thrash metal, the new Warbringer is thrashtastic. From start to finish, Woe To The Vanquished has insane speed, dark lyrics, abrasive riffs, and head-banging breakdowns. Pretty much everything you could want from a good thrash album, like early Metallica. — Joshua

Daddy Issues
Nashville, Tennessee
Deep Dream

Daddy Issues is Infinity Cat Records latest export. The Nashville-based label was founded by the Orrall brothers of JEFF The Brotherhood, who still run the label with their dad, BOB The Fatherhood. Daddy Issues opened for JEFF at this year’s Savannah Stopover, making for one of the best double-bills at a killer edition of the annual music festival. Deep Dream is musically pretty simple and straightforward, but often that’s all you need to make good garage/pop rock. This is a good stuff. Winners. — Joshua

Foo Fighters
Seattle, Washington

Out of nowhere, Foo Fighters released a new single this week. I am always a bit on the fence with this band. I like the occasional song. This new single is killer though. The standard Foo Fighters musical tropes are at play here, but they have begun to push the boundaries. A fuzzy, effects-rich riff that starts in mono and goes stereo, Dave Grohl extending his vocal reach with some desert-drenched sounds, and an overly sweet chorus all expand their already tight sound into a new stratosphere. There are rumors Them Crooked Vultures might return, Grohl’s super group that included Josh Homme and John Paul Jones. This single reminds me of that one good album they put out. Maybe that’s what’s on his mind these days? Also, nursing home riots are a lot of fun to watch. — Joshua

Abingdon, Oxfordshire, England
“I Promise” from OKNOTOK, a reissue of Ok Computer

This week, Radiohead released this weary love song, built on a military drum march and Thom Yorke’s standard soaring falsetto. “I Promise” was written for their third studio album, 1997’s Ok Computer, but was shelved. They released the single and new video ahead of the 20 year celebration reissue of Ok Computer, OKNOTOK, due out on June 23. The reissue will feature three unreleased tracks, eight b-sides and the original tracks all remastered. This is one of my favorite bands of all time. At this point, like millions of other fans, I’ll enjoy pretty much whatever they put out, old or new. I am stoked for the reissue of one of my favorite albums.— Joshua

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
“White Man’s World” from the forthcoming The Nashville Sound

The latest intense song from Isbell’s forthcoming album explores privilege, sexism, expectations, imperialism, racism, guilt, hope, and obligation: “There’s no such thing as someone else’s war.” – bill